november 14: we graduated!

previous post 11.14.11:

today was a huge day in our fertility journey. we were officially released from dr. a’s care. i am no longer a “fertility patient”. i’m a normal patient, going to a normal obgyn. normal. we graduated from infertility…and i must admit it was emotional.

for the past two years i’ve been driving to cincinnati on a regular basis (sometimes as often as two times a week when in the thick of a cycle). i know the nurses, i know the office, i know the nearest starbucks, i know the nearest panera, and i know (and love) my doctor. he has laughed with me, cried with me, joked me with, held my hand and seen me at my most vulnerable moments. today, he gave me a big hug and said goodbye (for now). his happiness for us was genuine.

it is a huge, huge sense of relief to be released (his success rates after the 9 week ultrasound are very, very high). so, until we are ready to go down this path again, we shouldn’t (knock on wood) be seeing him anytime soon.

i did inquire about future children/pregnancies before leaving. i’ve read about many people who once they get pregnant are able to more easily (on their own!) in the future. dr. a was honest though and told me quite frankly, “meredith, your case was very, very complicated. i honestly don’t think it will happen naturally. but, we know exactly what to do next time and we’ll do it.”. while it made me feel a little defeated, it also gave me a sense of relief that he thinks this wasn’t a fluke. even if i need help next time around, he can help me.

i almost feel like i owe my first born to dr. a (except for the fact that we pretty much have given him our life savings+). i will forever be thankful for him and his wonderful staff. forever.

2 thoughts on “november 14: we graduated!

  1. Samantha says:

    HOW EXCITING!! I am so happy for you! Thank you for sharing your story with me – it really makes me feel like there is hope out there! I look forward to seeing how you’re pregnancy goes and to hear about that new little one. Ahh…so exciting for you! I was telling My husband about your story and I could tell how even he was comforted in knowing that it can take a long time, but it will work. We just have to keep trusting that we’re doing the right thing.

    • dogsarekids says:

      Thank you so much! I love your blog and glad that our story can give you some hope too. There is a light at the end of the tunnel — just don’t be afraid to try both western and eastern approaches, and don’t give up. I think the combo of both is what got us to this point. I plan on keeping this blog going so we can document this special time in our life. I look forward to keeping up with your fabulous blog too!

Leave a Reply

